london night photography, large format-should I expect police hassle?

mark_l6

<p>Back in the early 1980's I spent three months shooting central london including the City of London with my 4x5 linhof taking long exposures between the hours of 10pm and dawn, never once being even approached by the police, in fact the only hassle I ever got was from drunken yuppies.<br>

I may have reason to return to England from my adopted country of Australia for a few weeks, and am contemplating trying to update my project and indeed fill in some gaps, maybe even to complete the project.<br>

My question is this, I take about half an hour to an hour to set up and take each scene, many exposures were in the 5 to 30 minute range, am I going to get hassled by the London police? Will I get a load of grief from private security idiots? I hear all sorts of worrying stories about london police hassling photographers and I no longer do this for a living and do my large format work for pure fun and if I think I'm going to get hassled or even arrested for setting up my sinar on a tripod quite frankly I may forget the whole thing and have a go at covering the same thing in Paris or Barcelona where any hassle with police has easily been diffused by doing my dumb Aussie tourist impression (not really that hard for me).<br>

I'm 6ft 3in and solid so I never have concerns about personal safety, but find police harrassment really unpleasant and if it's going to happen night after night, then forget it , I will just cross england off my personal list of civilised countries to photograph in. <br>

All contributions gratefully received, particularly from anyone who's tried large format work late at night in london.<br>

Below should be an example of my idea of fun with a camera.</p><div>00Yjhu-358979584.jpg.69f99a216c20695ce04a5c71d26094cd.jpg</div>