Putting Classics through their paces...

<p>Leaving to raft the Grand Canyon this Sunday. I'll be 16 days and 230 miles on the water. I was originally going to be kayaking as part of a private trip. That trip was cancelled... I found another trip, but they needed somebody to man an oar-raft (18' long, 8' wide, two oars, used like the oars on a rowboat). I've never set foot in one, as they're a Western kind of boat, but I've been kayaking whitewater at a high skill level for 25 years. The outfitters, and other raft guides, assure me that it's simple to go from experienced kayaker to runing an oar-raft through the Grand Canyon, and that other kayakers with zero raft experience do it all the time as well. So I'm in...</p>

<p>Reason for this post is that after examing my photography options in the Canyon, old Classics are a big part of my gear. Reason: a small solar charger can power my small digital point-n-shoot submersible camera, assuming strong sun each day for a few hours. But we may have rain, or overcast skies.</p>

<p>So in my drybag will be over 30 rolls of 120 film, and probably 40 rolls of 35mm.<br>

<br />Then the cameras:</p>

<p>Argus C3<br />Olympus XA<br />Widelux FV<br />Ciro-Flex F<br />Zeiss Ikon Ikonta</p>

<p>I figure for each type of film, I have a main camera and a backup camera. The XA made the list thanks to having a meter (I'll also have a small handheld meter - redundancy is the theme), and to being my first camera, bought new in 1982. The Widelux, my only expensive camera on the trip, made the grade because it produces such unique photos. The other cameras on the list are my B-string old cameras and not worth much; my Rollei TLR's are a bit too nice for me to risk.</p>