Slaving a Vivitar 285hv with an Elan 7

aim rollphoto805

I was wondering how I would set up a slave with a Vivi 285hv for an

Elan 7.

What accessories would I need? What would i need to do? (Either an

Optical or Radio slave if possible.)

Are there any sites that would help explain this better?

Also, which would you prefer: the Sunpak 555 or the Vivi 285hv?

(I would like to use this flash/these flashes for action shots at

night and dusk)

Thank you for your help.

Thomas- I wanted a manual slave setup, because that for me, is a big part of learning about photography, since i am a bit new to the game.

Yakim- I don't want the 420EX because it is completely auto, even though it is made for my camera, i still want to go manual. Even with the autofocus lenses, i flip the switch to manual and focus, and use the manual arpeture and shutter priority.

And Thomas, i've looked into the pocket wizards for radio slave, i don't really have that much of a budget, but since i wont be using the slave during the midday sunlight, the Wein Optical Slaves should work well for me, and are more into my price range.

If anyone has any other links or information, please share.

THanks again to all who have replied and helped.

Using an optical slave on the 285 or 555 will work fine, even outdoors in mid day if you get a good one. The 285 can use a slave with a shoe mount on it or one with a PC connector since it can be fired either way. The 555 will have to have a model with a PC connector since it has no hot foot. Both of these use special PC cnnector to flash connector cords that are dedicated to them, but they are cheap and should come with them if you buy new.