D2H for wedding - which flash settings?

simon_t__ireland_

<p>Hi Folks,<br>

I have been asked by my friend to take some informal/documentary shots at her wedding. I am planning to use my D2H, 28mm f1.8 and SB-600 gear (BTW I also will be taking my F90x and Tamron 17mm f3.5 and Nikkor 105mm f2.5 as well for backup and for shooting tight group shots, plus YONGNUO 465 flash + Panny G1 just in case). I also have Gary Fong's diffusion dome with amber or chrome covers.<br>

I am a rookie when it comes to using electronic flash. My question is, for indoor shots at the registry and reception would this seeing be appropriate?<br>

Raw quality for all shots<br>

ISO 250 - max ISO 640, depending on distance.<br>

Aperture - f4<br>

Flash - this is where I am stuck. Which one should use? standard TTL, or BL TTL or TTL with rear curtain sync? <br>

I am reading up on a number of books at the moment, including Joe Buissink's tips.<br>

Thanks for the advise.</p>

<p>-Si.</p>

<p>Simon, will there be an "official" wedding photographer at this wedding in addition to yourself? Depending upon the lighting conditions, you may be able to shoot without flash for these informal/documentary shots. For your flash shots,the SB-600 and the Fong dome should be fine on TTL.</p>

<p>Simon, there is a website with an extensive articles related to wedding photography and by the way, the owner of the website, is one of the most experienced wedding photographers in the world. I do suggest to review it and learn from him. It did help me a lot.</p>

<p>www.neilvn.com/tangents</p>

<p>Hi Bob and Maurice,<br /> No, for some strange reason, my friend do not want any Pro around asking her to do poses? So it kind of puts a little more pressure on me. But I will make sure she understands the "risk". <br /> Thanks for the tips. I have just got his book now called "On Camera Flash Techniques for Digital Wedding and Portrait Photography"</p>

<p>Cheers.</p>