control my nikon tehtering

dennis_brabender

<p>Has anybody tried the control my nikon tethering program?<br>

the videos put out by the site look good better than spending the big bucks on camera control pro but when I try to install it my Norton keeps saying that there is a threat.<br>

Don't know if Norton is being overly protective or if there is a threat.<br>

Thanks for any input</p>

<p>i hadn't heard of this product, but after browsing the site it does NOT appear to be a front for hackers who want to gain control of your computer under the guise of you remote controlling your nikon... consequently, i believe its a case of norton being "overly protective," as you say.<br>

indeed, i work on computers for a living, and have come to have a pretty poor opinion of the norton anti-virus/internet-protection software packages. they seem bloated and overly controlling of one's use of the computer. i spent an inordinate amount of time yesterday removing norton from a coworker's vista notebook. it literally took over an hour, and a special removal software, to finally get rid of it.<br>

my personal preference at present is microsoft security essentials. besides working well, it's free. in operation it's unobtrusive, but at the same time it finds viruses at least as well as the commercial offerings, in my experience.<br>

i'm tempted to look at the control my nikon tethering software myself, after reviewing that site. not that i really need it, but it looks pretty cool. meantime, just for the sake of having something that actually will let me control the cameras from my netbook, i use something called DIYphotobits.com. it's quite modest but does what it says it will do.</p>