What WA lens to choose for 4x5?

janko_belaj

<p>(as 1st, sorry on clumsy english)</p>

<p></p>

<p>I'm relatively new in buying equipment for LF system (I bought one Sinar F1 few months

ago) but I know something about LF photography and I know what I'm looking for... just don't

know all what I can found around.</p>

<p>I would like to buy some moderate WA lens for nature and architectural photography.

Should be inexpensive and should have some movement space (20-30-40mm?). Copal or

Compur shutter. For my professional work (tabletop) I'm using new Rodenstock 135 Sironar

lens (not mine, but just borrowed from the store... sound silly, but is true:)), and for my pleasure

in nature I have recently bought one old Schneider Symmar 135/235 (just can't afford something

happen to borrowed lens).</p>

<p>btw, I leave in small European country where we don't have big photo market so testing

lenses before buying is out of question... unfortunately. I believe I will buy some lens on

ebay.</p>

<p></p>

<p>Well, my question is - what would you (as a people of experience in many photographic

fields) recommend me to seek for. I don't need very large aperture (8 might be just fine), image

circle size of some 190-210mm on f22 would be great. Right now I can't afford myself lens

which will need center filter. I'm thinking on some Super Angulon (like 75mm f1:5.6 mentioned

here few days ago - 198mm circle @ f16), or some 90mm lens (Super Angulon f1:8 has circle

od 216 @f16). Or to try to find some even cheaper lens? Oh yes, one more think - I'm working

with slides, but for my own pleasure I'm shuting b&w films and mostly ortho emulsions, so

multicoating isn't that important.</p>

<p></p>

<p>Tnx in advice,</p>

<p>Janko.</p>

<p></p>

<p>P.S. when spring will come, I will ask similar question about telephoto/macro lens ;))</p>

Janko,

Welcome to LF photography!

If you have not already found it have a look at :

www.largeformatphotography.info