interacting with models in a studio (strict direction or 'let them free')?

kevin_flossner

<p>Hello everyone (I've just joined photo.net after lurking for too long).<br>

I am a relatively experienced amateur who, after quite a few years spent doing landscape, travel, some street and whatnot, is getting more interested in the human subjects (errm, am I shy? Yes :-)<br>

In about two weeks I'll be going to a studio shoot. I've been at studio workshops in the past so technically I can manage the likely lighting setup (up to two lights).<br>

What I'm not very sure about is how to interact with models (females, but not nudes). Apart from treating them professionally and being aware to build and maintain rapport, should I provide minute directions (which I'm not really experienced with) or let them express themselves and provide minimal instructions? I expect the models themselves to be relative beginners, otherwise they'd go to more advanced photographers.<br>

I should probably check one of those Amherst books, but I often find the advice on this forum to be better.<br>

Thanks in advance for any suggestions,<br>

Kevin</p>

<p>Well, believe it or not, it's very much down to the individual model. I've worked with professional models who could not pose to save their lives and I've worked with complete amateurs who simply had it! There have been times when I, not only had to direct them down to the last detail, but I even had to demostrate the exact poses I was looking for (and let me tell you, seeing ME demostrate sexy or provocative shots is a MUST for anyone suffering from depression - they'd seriously get over it in seconds!!!)</p>