triggering options for Hensel lights

plangereis

<p>Hi. I am new to studio lighting, and my sister has graciously allowed me to borrow some Hensel lights and stands. My question is what my options for triggering these lights. I have a number of PC sync cords with this kit, but I am not sure how to use those (or other remote triggers). I am using a Canon 40D, and it has a sync cord plug, but if I want to use both lights, do I need another item to use them both at the same time? Can I use the built in flash on my 40D to optically trigger these lights? If I use the supplied sync cables, do I hook up one to the camera, and set the other to slave? Can using sync cables lead to more problems, such as frying my sync port etc, as I have heard of these kinds of issues. If I buy pocket wizards or an equivalent, will they work with another set of lights once my sister asks for the Hensels back? I do plan on getting studio lights or possibly speedlites one day. Thanks for your help in advance!<br>

Paul</p>

<p>The simplest way is the pc sync cord. Plug one end into one of the flashes, the other end into the standard PC socket on your camera. It should trigger that flash when you take a picture. To fire the other flash, make sure that it's turned on of course. Then there is a switch that turns the optical slave on or off. If it's on, then when the first flash fires its flash should be automatically detected and trigger the second flash. If they're too far away and the light from the first flash isn't falling onto the second flash then you may find it fails to trigger however.</p>

<p>The more reliable way is to use radio triggers. The most recent studio Hensels include a radio receiver. Otherwise you need to plug a radio receiver into the sync socket of the flash. And of course, you will need a compatible transmitter on the camera.</p>

<p>Probably best to get everything working via the PC sync cord before trying anything fancy with radio triggers.</p>