Waaaay OT- calling all fly boys

b_va

After seeing the Reno airshow pix I was wondering if there are any

pilots in the group? I always take the M and a 21 for the sunsets

over the stack shots and the "hey, look no hands!" reaction snap. Any

in- flight experiances to share?

I'm a glider pilot, though I've been inactive for a few years. I've never had any real luck doing in-flight pics, except for a bit of air-to-air of gliders from the back seat of our tug. Most of the aerial photos I've shot have been what are called "turnpoint" photos - these are record shots to act as proof that you covered a pre-declared cross-country course. Gliders themselves - especially the newer moulded composite fuselages - are things of wondrous beauty, and I have a number of photos that show them off to good advantage.

Most good pics taken from inside a glider cockpit seem to be done with hyper-wides, and I've never been that enthusiastic about those sorts of lenses, so I've had to content myself with recording the beauty with my Mk I eyeballs.

The best pic I never took was on a fall day with scattered rainshowers. I flew through a thin wall of cloud and popped out the other side into bright sunshine and a massive thermal (updraft). I immediately banked into a turn and started to soar up the side of the cloud. As I looked around me I realized that there were six hawks in the thermal with me. The closest was less than fifty feet away, turning in the same direction I was, and watching me. After I'd completed two circles the hawks were already hundreds of feet above me, and then they all buggered off to find something more interesting to do. A camera wouldn't have caught the scene, but the image in my mind still makes me smile.