Difference between Elinchrom RX Rangers?

patrick_j.

<p>hello and thank you in advance for your answers. i am considering to my first lighting kit, and mulling over an Elinchrom Ranger RX kit to start with. I have no previous experience with studio lighting so i hope to learn a lot of new things with it. however i am not sure which one to settle on. the ranger RX comes in 3 flavors:</p>

<ol>

<li>RX</li>

<li>RX Speed</li>

<li>RX Speed AS</li>

</ol>

<p>i will primarily use it for portrait photography, and would like to use it on location (hence the battery pack). the RX is quite a bit lighter than the RX Speed, and RX Speed AS, so i wonder if it would make more sense to get the lightest one of the 3. I also don;t understand the advantage of the AS version. I understand the it is asynchronous for when you use 2 heads and allows for different outputs. It seems to me that i would be able to set the output differently anyways on the heads, so what is the advantage of it. <br>

and finally, which one of the 3 would you recommend?<br>

i am sorry if these are complete newbee questions, and will very much appreciate any help with this.</p>

<p>thanks,<br>

patrick.</p>

<p>The "Speed" designation refers to the speed at which the flash recycles. The difference is fairly notable, twice as fast for the Speed. The regular RX recycles a full power pop in 5.5 seconds, while the Speed takes 2.5 seconds. There is also a battery capacity difference, with the Speed versions having 250 full power pops per battery charge, while the regular RX has only 140 full power pops. The Speed version is heavier, but the extra battery capacity might make the difference between needing to carry a spare battery and not needing to.</p>