polarizing filter phenomenon and medium format

kevinbriggs

<p>Question regarding the following negative effect of using a polarizing filter on a wide angle lens -- which is explained best by the following quick photo example found <a href="http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/B-W-77mm-MRC-Circular-Polarizer-Filter-Review.aspx">here</a> (middle of the page):</p>

<p>Are there any specific "cut off" technical specifications for exactly when such a phenomenon will occur...? Meaning, does it occur on all wide-angle lenses, or is it a very specific in its appearance once you have crossed a certain technical threshold, as it were...?</p>

<p>I shoot primarily with wide angle lenses; I have been shooting in 35mm format (Canon 1Ds Mark III) for the past several years, but I'm now moving to the Mamiya medium format range in the near future.</p>

<p>Is there a difference with how this polarizer-filter phenomenon occurs with relation to the difference between 35mm and medium format (6 x 7 cm), or does this not have any appreciable difference (which is my guess)...?</p>

<p>Thanks in advance!</p>

<p>Hi Kevin,<br>

I have polarizers up to 105mm and also Cokin X-pro, to be honest I have never given it much thought about wide angle lenses, but yes if you are covering an unusually wide area and that happens to include clear blue sky you are bound to see an aberration as polarizers work best at a specific angle and reaching past that permitted range could well produce a marked loss of polariszation on your image as you describe. I very rarely use the Cokins because the blue tint is obtuse, I prefer a cheapo version the gives me the colour rendition I.m looking for without the image shouting POLARIZER !</p>

<p>Cheers,<br>

Adrian<br /></p>