What Modifiers?

<p>I am primarily a wedding photographer and use bounced flash and OCF bare or with umbrellas (shoot through and regular) for portraits and at receptions. I have recently purchased two Alien Bees 800 units and am planning on photographing more babies / maternity shoots. I can imagine I will be working in fairly tight spaces as I do not have a studio space. I will be bringing my equipment to my clients homes.<br>

I have been trying to decide on what I need. I was plannning on doing these shoots with my AB's, so I would most likely purchase from their accessories. I was thinking a softbox (what size? and maybe with a grid?) or a beauty dish? I was also thinking about purchasing a boom arm, but not sure if that will be useful in smaller spaces.<br>

With the maternity portraits I'd like to create some moody picture where the mom fades into the shadows (this is why I'm thinking I might need a grid) and of course some nicely lit ones too.<br>

Any direction would be great. Thanks.</p>

<p>The folding softboxes they sell at AlienBees.com are (especially when you get them at a discount because you're ordering lights) a very good deal. A grid isn't cheap, but it definitely gives you more control when you don't want to splash light around the set quite so much. I can see that playing a role in the mom-type shots you describe, for sure. I'd stick with the larger softbox if you can.<br /><br />A boom arm can still be very useful when you're working in close quarters. In fact, it can help you out all the more, because it allows you to get that soft box up a bit without having the stand base crowding the working area.</p>