Picked a lens now looking for guidance on the kit for vacation

erictomenga

<p>I am an amateur photographer with much to learn who regularly reads this site but don't post much. After much research (thanks to this site) I decided to go with the 70-200mm f/4L USM lens for my new zoom. AT $600 I couldn't beat the quality and price combo. I would love the IS version or even f/2.8 but I can't justify (aka afford) the cost. I already have the 1.4x extender and a 100-500mm Tamron so I think I am good with my zoom range. The new lens will give me the range I need when I don't have room for the 100-500mm monster. I considered the 28-300mm IS USM but I did not like the f/6.3 as I do like to take wildlife photos. The most pressing reason for this purchase is that I am heading over to England for my first time and want to make sure I pack right.</p>

<p>My plan is to take my 30D, 16-35mm f2.8 L, 50mm f/1.4 and my soon to be purchased 70-200mm f/4 L. Along with my extender and considering London's low light(aka cloudy) and inside touristy stuff I feel that I have all my bases covered. I would like to keep my extender on the 70-200mm at all times, get a filter for protection and hood which I would remove during storage. Is it OK to keep the two attached? I would like to bring one of the two vivitar 285hv flashes I have but to be honest I'm not very confident in my experience with it and having to rely on more of a manual mode than canon's flash. Should I just leave the flash at home? </p>

<p>Any suggestions warning about a few days in London? After London I head to Norwich to visit relatives.</p>

<p>Last question. My wife's uncle knows about my camera hobby and threatened to give me his old EOS (forgot model but it is film based) plus a lens or two. I'm not holding him to his word but if he happened to convince me to take them, will I have any issues with older UK based lenses in my US based 30D? I'm sorry I can't give an age or range but think back decades at least.</p>