What flash do you recommend

dan_tripp

<p>I have a Sigma DG Super flash and is starting to misfire frequently. It will be 2 years old this May and I have taken thousands of shots with it. Most likely over 10,000. I am a wedding photographer, so I need a flash that can recycle quickly. I know the Pentax 540 has a power pack option, but I can't find great reviews about either. Are there any other options?</p>

<p>Thanks.</p>

<p>I'm not sure what complaints people would have. We have 2 540's, both are 3 (nearly 4) years old. One got dropped on it's face on the sidewalk 2 years ago now. They both are still working great.<br>

We also shoot weddings. And families, and as a hobby, and children, and events, and and and and, so they are certainly work horses around here.<br>

We also have the power pack now, and probably ought to add a 2nd one. It refreshes VERY quickly, and only slows down when the C-cells are well well well used (like the other night, after no less than 4 heavy duty photo shoots and I was firing in a very dark theater, so full power every shot). Even at that, I really only had to count to about 8 before the flash was charged & ready. I've even gotten just about to the point of not noticing the power cord between flash & pack!</p>

<p>Granted, the lock pin breaking is a problem, and I want to pick up a couple parts flashes to fix it, BUT it's actually not been the real problem I was afraid it would be, so I'm not opposed to owning a couple more at all... just to have extras as side lights, etc.</p>

<p>Dan,<br>

Matthew Miller's Pentax P-TTL Flash <a href="http://pttl.mattdm.org/">site</a> is the authoritative one. Several of us on this forum provided some feedback when he was getting it together.</p>