Back-up: cost of rentals

elle_m

<p>I'm a casual wedding photographer. It's not my "money maker," but I enjoy shooting a few weddings a year and what I make from them greatly helps to offset costs.</p>

<p>In the past, I've just brought along low-end back-up (i.e. my older DSLR camera), but now, after having become used to the quality of my professional gear, I've decided to rent equivalent-quality back-ups.</p>

<p>WOW! The rentals themselves are not overly expensive (renting a 5dmkII and an L series lens), but having to put a retainer worth the price of the camera on my credit card is... tough, to say the least. I don't shoot big-budget weddings, but I'm not low-end either. In any case, I'm not in a position to purchase a 2nd full-frame camera... and having that 3-4k on my credit card for 3 months is not great for me.<br>

I'm just wondering if renting a less-expensive camera as back-up would be more economical for my needs. Does anyone else run into this problem?</p>

<p>I've rented in the past, but my experience is different. I'd also get a hefty load of debt dumped on to my credit card account, but I'm pretty sure it was wiped away (except for the relatively small rental cost) as soon as I returned the equipment a few days later.<br>

Curt (photocurt.com)</p>

<blockquote>

<p>...having that 3-4k on my credit card for 3 months is not great for me.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>That's the wrong way to think about it.</p>

<p>You need to rent only for the day (or weekend) that you require the equipment. If you do it right the following happens: you "spend" several thousand on your card each month; you pay zero interest; your credit rating goes very high; you win rewards/air miles -- and most importantly, you're never actually in debt as you don't spend the money since it's credited back to you a day or two later.</p>

<p>In real terms the only money that leaves your account is the hire fee.</p>