Star Trails/Lightning Shots

andrew_jacobson3

<p>Hey guys,</p>

<p> I am still relatively new to the world of photography. I've been experimenting alot with different things and I've ran into multiple questions. I've read alot of the other questions that have been posted, but it is quite likely that I missed something along the way, so I apologize if I ask something that has already been posted.</p>

<p> My 1st question involves star trails. As I said, I've read some of the other posts on this subject, but alot of them are talking about 30 minute exposers. I fire a Canon Rebel XSi with a 70-300mm and a 50mm lens, and, as I am on a college student budget, I do not foresee that changing any time soon. I've tried taking time exposers before, but my shutter only opens to 30'', which, I assumed anyway, means for 30 seconds. The problem that I run into is that there really isn't much of a trail.</p>

<p> I know that I can use a stitching program to edit a group of shots together, but is that even going to work with that short of an exposer?</p>

<p> Also, when I'm doing a shot like that, what do I focus on?</p>

<p> If all of that works out, is there a way that I can focus on something (Dimly lit tent, Town at night, etc.) without frying the entire shot?</p>

<p> On a completely unrelated note, I've always thought that Lightning shots were awesome and there is a gravel pit near where I live that would be absolutly perfect for that kind of shot (Well.. And perfect for getting fried...). I've tried getting shots like this in the past, but either my shot was too dim because the shutter was too fast, or the whole thing was just blurry... Any tips on how to get these particular kinds of shots (Preferably without imitating the clock tower in back to the future)?</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>I will address the lightning thing first:<br>