Workflow with lightroom and two macs?

<p>Hi all,</p>

<p>Any ideas for me re the best workflow?</p>

<p>I am a working pro who has an iMac and a MacBook Pro (as well as a Macbook Air).</p>

<p>I shoot with three Canon cameras and I work in Lightroom. My images live on an external drive with a second drive next to it and a script that syncs those. A third drive in the car. One library I work with usually, with the last three years' images (ca 90,000).</p>

<p>So far so good, that part is easy. But now that I have added a MacBook Pro I can also edit on that. HUGE productivity boost.</p>

<p>But how? Other than constantly dragging a disk along with me, I see no easy way of avoiding duplication or "image is on this machine, not on that one".</p>

<p>Dragging disks is not ideal (I switch from computer to computer many times daily), but it may be the only way. Although that would mean keeping the catalog on the disk too - currently it lives on the iMac and is backed up to the disk - this is much faster.</p>

<p>Or I could make each shoot into a catalog. That really defeats the object of good asset management though.</p>

<p>Any ideas? How do you all do it?</p>

<p> </p>

<p>I have two machines: desktop and laptop. </p>

<p>- Desktop system has the master working catalogs on the internal startup disk, copies on the internal data disk. Data for the past several years is on the data disk too. They're all backed up to duplicate external archive volumes. </p>

<p>- Laptop system has a copy of the master working catalog on it when I need it there, and looks at an external disk copy of the data files (again, when needed).</p>