Small RAW, any noise or diffraction reductions?

rcsenn

<p>OK, I have my 50D and like it a lot, but I am strugging a bit with my 300mm F4 and 1.4x combo. On my old XTi I would shoot at an F-stop higher and be OK without percievable diffraction, but now I'm trying to not go over F8. Good chance that most of my problem is camera shake, but I thought I had enough shutter speed, (I was shooting wildlife, and really didn't want to use a tripod). This got me to thinking though about something I think I read concerning another company's reduced pixel mode being aimed at reducing noise in high ISO, or something to that effect. Now with a 50D, what are the chances of using the lower RAW settings and seeing a reduction in the high ISO noise, or being able to go to a higher f-stop before diffraction starts to be objectionable. <br>

I'm not a professional photographer, physist or anything close but I'm just guessing here that the easiest way to try this out is take some shots with the settings where I feel that the noise and-or diffraction is starting, in standard RAW, then changing only the RAW to the smaller RAW taking some shots and comparing.<br>

I also think that the final output size will be reduced in the smaller RAW setting, so 100% is not equal to 100% on screen, but if final print size is equal then that is what should be compared. <br>

Please feel free to point me in whatever direction as needed.</p>

<p>Richard</p>

<p>If you use sRaw that will help reduce noise, however the file size will be smaller.<br>

Also, if I remember right but you will want to search this. If you also turn off highlight tone priority and have settings on standard or faithful with reduced sharpening in camera that will also help reduce noise in the Canon 50d.<br>

I had one when they first came out but got rid of it due to its high noise problem especially with me shooting a lot of indoor high school gym sports. The 7d is way better. Had to use Noise Ninja a lot with that 50d.<br>