Flash Meter

tara_behmer

<p>I am fairly new to the photography world and have just purchased the Promaster SystemPro Advanced 3-Head Studio Flash Kit. I'm starting to do more indoor portraits and would like some suggestions on if I should purchase a flash meter? Do these meters actually trigger the lights or just set your camera to the most appropriate settings?<br>

Thank you for the help!!</p>

<p>Tara,<br>

as a rule, flash meters do not trigger the lights - they just measure the incident light when you trigger them yourself.<br>

If you have a DSLR, you probably won't benefit too much from a flash meter as you can see your results instantaneously. I own one, but rarely use it these days.<br>

As long as you are in the habit of checking the histogram on the camera and train yourself to be sensitive to the relative light levels within the shot you should be fine.<br>

Dave</p>

<p>Plenty of flash meters can trigger lights - it's a useful function to look for in a flash meter. At least one (Sekonic L-358) can also trigger wirelessly instead of with a PC connection using an attachment.</p>

<p>Whether or not you need a flash meter depends on how you shoot, e.g., are you setting up the lights once and leaving them that way) and what your setup is. I stopped using a flash meter when I started shooting tethered to a computer - I can get far more out of doing measurements on the screen.</p>

<p>I am setting up my lights once and leaving them there. I just need something to trigger my studio lights. Right now I am currently using my 580EX flash to do this, but I would like to just shoot in Manual mode and disable my flash. What would you recommend doing? If I don't need to purchase a flash meter, I would rather not. </p>

<h1><br /></h1>