50D AF points in use for AE?

alex_dannenbaum

<p>I am still learning the fundamentals of my Canon 50D. As you will see I am getting confused by the manual and references to using to the AF points for exposure. <br>

When I am trying to set my exposure to areas other than the center of the screen, I understand that the best technique is to have the exposure mode in (preferrably) partial or spot mode, meter the subject at the center of the scene then recompose the scene while holding down the shutter in the halfway position then take the shot. - at least I hope that is right. <br>

Now, I am trying to figure how to use the AE lock as described on page 103 of the manual. It has got me confused. The table at the bottom of the page indicates that in Manual Focus, when locking the exposure, the AE is applied at the AF point for Evaluative metering. Which AF point? ... the center or other selected points? I am also confused because Evaluative metering is so spread out, and not a single point like "spot metering". (ie. shouldn't spot metering be the technique employed for selecting an AF point?)<br>

Additional related questions:</p>

<ul>

<li>I had always assumed that the AF points were just that, locations of Automatic Focus, when the lens is set to automatic focus vs. manual. I did not think they had anything to do with Automatic Exposure (AE) am I wrong? </li>

<li>Is the AE lock the only time that the AF point is employed for exposure, or is it done whenever an AF point is identified? </li>

<li>Aren't all exposures in the 50D "automatic", but can be ajdusted using Exposure Compensation. Is there such a thing as a manual exposure?</li>

<li>When both compensating the exposure and locking the exposure, which is done first? (Do you compensate then lock? or lock then compensate?)</li>

</ul>

<p>Please help and aleviate my confusion. <br>

Thanx</p>

<p> </p>