Anyone have some advice on flash mode for bird photography.

mart_e

<p>I've recently tried my hand at some bird photography - although limited in range as the longest lens I have is a Nikkor 105mm f2.8 Micro on my Nikon D90.</p>

<p>Luckily the Robins around here are fairly tame - and let you get reasonably close - helped with a bit of bribery in the way of food.</p>

<p>I've been using a recently purchashed SB-600, I'm new to flash photography. I read up a bit in the manuals, and decided to throw myself into the task and experiment with settings.</p>

<p>I've posted some results in my portfolio - but I now have a question. What flash mode to people use when trying to balance a bit of fill light, keeping the lighting looking natural, and keeping shutter speeds reasonably quick.</p>

<p>The two shots of robins in my portfolio were shot as follows (can't figure out how to add those details to the shots retrospectively):</p>

<ul>

<li>Robin with seeds: f4.5 1/60 (Ap) ISO-200 Front Curtain, flash -1/7ev</li>

</ul>

<ul>

<li>Robin in tree: f3 1/100(Sp) ISO200, Front Curtain, TTL-BL, -1.0ev</li>

</ul>

<p>both had matrix metering set, with AF as single point, focusing on bird, re-compose, shoot.</p>

<p>I've had to dial down the flash compensation - as the flash was too strong - and un-natural looking, so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong in setting up the flash mode etc. that produces over 'flashed'' images.</p>

<p>I also find that the flash often spooks the birds - hardly suprising - and I often capture a sharp eye admist a flurry of blurred wings.</p>

<p>Any advice on settings would be greatly appreciated - thanks,</p>

<p>Martin</p><div>00Veme-216303584.jpg.43b4184f5e24af38a3bb38268e99b2d9.jpg</div>

<p>Hi Mart,<br>

With my SB-800 and my D 300, here are some gereral guidelines I use for bird flash shots:<br>