One Light Portrait with Umbrella

raaj

<p>I'm posting this question in this forum because I'm looking for technical help. I'm just getting into portraits. I tried rembrandt lighting with this shot:<br>

<a href="../photo/10530632">http://www.photo.net/photo/10530632</a><br>

I'm wondering why the image looks so raw/harsh, unlike the smooth portraits I see on photo.net. I'm using a reflective umbrella with a flash. The light source is about 1 meter from the subject. Also, tried edge and butterfly lighting with similar results. Is the problem:<br>

1. not enough post processing? (I just add saturation and sharpen)<br>

2. light angle and distance?<br>

3. problem in the image capture?<br>

4. the dark skin is harder to photograph?<br>

5. my skin is not smooth like a supermodel?<br>

Equipment used is Nikon D80, 85mm, f/2.8, 1/200s, ISO 400, SB-900 with umbrella. Any suggestions are welcome.</p>

<p>What size of umbrella are you using? It seems too small. Also, be sure your flash is geting a reflection of all the umbrella area, not just one portion. If your flash is too near the umbrella, you are just using a portion of it.<br>

Assuming you are using a small umbrella, texture on the skin looks normal. Using a model with makeup and/or good sking will dramatically improve your results. Many model pictures use huge softboxes 1mt or 2mt high. For headshots you need as a minimun 48 inches umbrellas at 2 or three meters. Smaller umbrellas should be near your subjects. In general, the bigger th better and more flexible becomes your light source<br>

Using a fill reflectior will aslo help. Or another flash. I also think your positioned your flash to high, try a little bit down, so the light hits they eyes without shadows.<br>

Hope this helps</p>

<p> </p>

<p>First off I should say that I quite like the portrait - I like a harsher light for male portraits. But to answer your question, if you want softer lighting then you need softer light(!):</p>

<ol>