Share your story... How did your business take off?

heather_p1

<p>I'm curious how you got your start in the wedding photography business.  Would you share your story?  Did you ever have to work for free in order to get images?  How long before you were able to make what you wanted to make per wedding?  How long before you were booked as much as you wanted to be booked?  What has been your best form of advertising?<p></p>

<p>I'm trying to make a living off my passion now.  Luckily my husband can support me while doing so but no doubt finances are tight.  I'm very interested to hear how you started, how your business grew, road blocks you experienced and tips you may have.</p>

<p>It might be kind of lengthy...(I tend to type out exactly how my mind rambles it)<br>

Well, we did exactly what everyone on here complains that people do. (so don't stone us to death lol).</p>

<p>I've been doing photography for a few years, but I was mostly heading for studio work, getting my degree etc. But never even considered weddings, cause they always sounded scary and stressful.</p>

<p>Well, then I got engaged & was on the smallest wedding budget ever! lol When I couldn't find a decent photographer in my price range, I was really upset. After looking at more photographers than probably 10 brides put together, I just decided, "you know what, I could do this". I posted an AD on craigslist to do some weddings for free to get a portfolio started. </p>

<p>We booked about 4 weddings for free, and then we put together a web page, and a printed portfolio to show people when we met them, we started researching places to host our photos for an online gallery, and places to get good prints & albums that were also affordable. We actually created a sample album out of our 2nd free wedding, and they bought 3 of them. So we took that as a good sign (and helped re-coupe some of our cost...whew). </p>