Rolleicord V: Light Value System/Scale

eric_mogren

<p>I shot film for thirty years before the "digital revolution," but I miss it and am returning to film with a medium format camera. I am considering a Rolleicord V is superb condition with a new CLA/overhaul.<br>

I have never used this camera before (my prior experience was all with 35mm), and I am puzzled by the Light Value System/Scale. I have read an owners' manual on line, but I remain confused. I believe I understand that it enables one to lock a shutter speed and then adjusting the LVS will automatically change the aperture, or vice versa. Correct?<br>

But, can the camera be used manually without the LVS system? In other words, can I override the system and set the speed and aperture as I choose?<br>

I assume the shutter speeds are designated in standard speeds (1/60, 1/125, 1/200, etc. or something similar), but are the aperture designations also standard (f3.5, f5.6, f8, etc.)? If not, how does one use a standard light meter to determine the speed and aperture combinations?<br>

If the camera must be used with the LVS system, how accurate are the "rule of thumb" settings determined by the little picture chart on the back of the camera?<br>

Finally, I will be shooting primarily black and white with this camera. If I must use the estimating chart and the LVS system, what speed black and white film have you found to be most successful (forgiving)?</p>

<p>Thank you for your input!</p>