Another D700/FX lens choice question

bdmott

<p>I recently upgraded my D100 to a D700. Let me just say-WOW!!! No really, WOW!!!!<br />I am an amateur but this is a serious hobby for me. I have no particular subject matter (like landscapes, portraits) that i shoot regularly but I find shooting in low light, with or without flash to be very challenging. Things like outdoor night parades, indoor bands, theatre, etc. I love trying to get the ambient light just right and using fill flash for the subject. I am practicing all the various techniques to get my skill to improve shooting these situations.<br />Here's my current equipment: sb800, nikkor 50mm f1.4, 70-300 f4-5.6, 28-105 f3.5-4.5.<br />I like the range of the last lens in my list and it is up until now regularly what I have been using. It's just not the greatest at autofocusing and its not very fast for my low light needs. My question, I'm finally getting to it, is if I were to get a 24-70 f2.8 with my D700 sensor, would cropping my pics give me the range at the long end i would loose from the 105mm. Or would adding a teleconverter be acceptable compromise to increase the reach.<br />The reason I'm asking this is there is really no Nikon standard FX zoom that has the range of my 28-105. Thom Hogan hated the 24-120.<br />I have no issues with cost. I'm also not really interested in other brand lenses, sorry.<br />I'd be interested in your comments. <br />Cheers.</p>

<p>Brian, There have been several threads on the 24-70 and the difference between the VRI and the new VRII. As best as I can tell, the VRII lens was upgraded to address a number of issues with the FX format (even though the VRI doesn't say it's a DX lens). The IQ is, however, so good, that the images will take the serious cropping in PP as you propose. Nice piece of glass for $2,500. I test-shot one on my D700 at a local shop (and whimpered all the way home). |;-}</p>