High school basketball game with d300

amin_siminati

<p>Hi, i'm a high school photo student, and we wanted to try shooting some basketball games. I tried on Monday, but wasn't satisfied with the results. The lighting is horrible, so it's challenging.</p>

<p>I was using the 18-135mm lense, and had it on 51 point auto focus. I shot in manual mode, and had it on continuous focus.</p>

<p>I read around a little and came up with a few ideas on how to improve it, but wanted some feedback.</p>

<p>Use 9 or 11 point auto focus since it focuses faster instead of the 51 i used.<br>

Use auto iso<br>

shutter speed minimum of 1/500 (i used 320, and they where blurry)<br>

use prime lenses</p>

<p>Well i didn't have photo today, but i talked to my teacher, and we a have a couple prime lenses. The 85mm 1.8, and the 50mm 1.4, and the 50mm 1.8. I'm obviously not going to take the 50mm 1.8, and i'm not sure whether it's the 50mm 1.4 af or af-s.I can find out tomorrow.</p>

<p>I'm not sure which one i should sign out. Also, I've heard primes focus faster, so should i be expecting faster focus speed?</p>

<p>I also don't know what the <strong>AF-C Priority selection, </strong> i've read different people recommending different things.</p>

<p>Most people recommend shooting in raw, but we only have 1gb cards, and that fills up fast when your shooting in continuous mode. I might ask to take out a second one, but i wouldn't count on it. Last time i used medium sized jpegs, only shot the second half of the game, and the card filled up before the game ended, so i had to go back, and deleted some pictures. <br /> </p>

<p>The 85mm will be the most useful. But I would try to use both the 50 and the 85 alternately, as long as they are both available. Your autofocus questions just boil down to a matter of preference. Good sports photography is a result of careful planning and anticipation. I would say 80% planning, 15% luck, and only 5% rapid-fire machine-gunning.</p>