What is wrong with my Yashica Mat 124G?

dwmitchell

<p>I just received a Yashica Mat 124G from KEH. I have never used a TLR before but it appears to me there are some serious problems with the camera. In the attached photo, the Yashica Mat is placed on the kitchen floor and is pointed directly at the stove. As you can see in the viewfinder, the stove is completely crooked. It's very difficult to get anything to appear straight in the viewfinder, no matter how I tilt the camera.<br>

I have also noticed that it does not appear to be focusing down to 3 feet. Instead, the minimum focusing distance appears to be much greater (i.e. 6 feet or more). <br>

Finally, the winding mechanism does not feel very smooth. <br>

I suspect I got a real lemon here and need to decide quickly whether to return to KEH or invest more $$$ into the camera to have it repaired and CLA'd. It was shipped from the US to Canada so I may end up taking a loss with shipping charges. The condition of the camera was rated as "Bargain", which I understand for KEH is typically in quite good working condition.<br>

Looking for advice here from others familiar with these types of problems and how expensive the repairs would be.<br>

Thanks!</p><div>00UoHM-182449584.jpg.1ebfe4dfd75f4d40d00f6a89fd29287b.jpg</div>

<p>Hold the camera by your ear and lightly shake it. If you hear a rattle coming from the upper portion of the camera then it's the mirror that has detached. It probably happened in shipping as the mirror is held by clips that are in turn held by screws. This isn't uncommon in TLR's. Very unlikely it's the lens panel as it would have to be really whacked to cause that much misalignment and you'd definitely see that by looking at the lens panel. JohnW</p>

<p>If the mirror is not sitting straight, it would be rattling around in the box since the mirror is held in by a metal clip, not glued down.</p>