First Flash

mikepalo

<p>Ok, I tried to look for this in the fourms but I'm not sure exactly how to concisely word what I'm looking for so its kinda of hard to search if its been asked before, sooo here it goes.<br>

I Have been shooting for about 2 years now with a Nikon D200 and an assortment of small zoom/prime lenses, including the Nikkor micro 60mm, 24-85mm, 70-300mm. I very rarely use any sort of flash because mainly I shoot outdoors and try to use the natural lighting as much as possible. I have been wanting to get into a little bit of protrait photography and with the debut of a fairly priced 35mm (standard) lens, it seems I may have my oppurtunity to practice with a friend who wants to try some modeling. I know that a full studio is the prefered set up to shoot portraiture, I do not have a studio and am not buying full studio lighting . I am looking for a single on top of camera speed-flash to get to help front light my model, but I know nothing about using a flash beyond a popup flash(which always burns too hot for my liking).<br>

Can anyone point me in a direction of a tutorial or description of the basics of using a speed-flash, as well as if anyone can suggest a speed flash which is good and why they prefer that one over another. There seem to be tons of them out that at all different prices and I dont understand the differences. I'm not asking anyone to explain anything indepth if they don't want to just if someone can give me a gentle bump in a direction of some information id greatly appreciate it. Thank you.<br>

-Michael Palozzola</p>