5d setting EXACT "Time / Date" in camera?

kiva

<p>I've always had a great deal of trouble setting the "Exact" time / date stamp in my Canon 5d. I can set the time I want and watch the official U.S. time at this site http://www.time.gov/timezone.cgi?Eastern/d/-5/java but the Time just never seems to be exactly what it was reading when I entered the time.</p>

<p>I can actually set the time and date but the date always seems off by 3 or more seconds one side or another of the exact time. Of course I want the exact time because my second photographers are all asked to set clocks to the exact time as well so that the files can be easily sorted according to time at an event photo session.</p>

<p>What I've been doing for a few years is to just keep looking at the atomic clock and punching in the time until I get Lucky! </p>

<p>There's got to be a better way! Right? Does the clock reset to the exact time of my computer if connected to the computer in any way?</p>

<p>Help is greatly appreciated; I know there's got to be a solution to this that will make me feel silly but that's ok as long as I find a way to set the Date/Time stamp on my 5d.</p>

<p>(Interesting that I can set the time exactly in my canon 20d cameras but the 5d seems to be lame for setting the time.)</p>

<p>you'd have to check the DPP software or something like that. I shoot Nikon and as I recall, there is an option in Nikon Transfer (the downoad utility) to sync the camera clock to the computer clock (which is on atomic time).</p>

<p>Pls realize that all cameras and devices have time drift and need correction on a moderately regular basis if you want true accuracy.</p>

<p>Is there some reason you need deadly accuracy? Like, are you trying to sort files from multiple cameras, chronoligically?</p>