Recommendations for compact "every day" camera

<p>I'm fairly new to photography. I've always used point-n-shoots in auto mode and decided over the summer to get a real camera and learn photography. I bought my first DSLR, a Canon 30d, and I've been having a blast with it. Mostly, I get to play with it on weekends as time allows since I work full time and take night classes during the week. As I'm developing more of an eye for good shots, I find myself wishing I had a camera with me on my way to and from work or school. Maybe a sunset or the moon looks great, but I don't have my camera. The obvious solution is to take my DLSR rig with me, however that's not a good option because I ride a motorcycle most days. Even when I take a car, there is too much crime in the area to leave my gear in my car at school. So, I'd like to get a compact camera that will live in my backpack that I always with me, maybe with a small gorilla pod. I've got an old Canon PowerShot A510, but I want something more current and higher resolution than its 3mp. <br>

The features I'd like are:<br>

Av and Tv (M if possible) exposure control<br>

IS<br>

Bracketing (nice, but not critical)<br>

I don't care about video, face recognition, and all the other bells and whistles that get thrown in these days. <br>

This would primarily be for capturing images of things like interesting skies and sceneries. Macro/close up of things like flowers would be nice too. Low use might be indoor shots at things like concerts where professional cameras are not allowed.<br>

I know, I'm probably asking a lot for a compact. The choices out there are staggering, so I thought I'd ask for some recommendations out here. Thanks for any advice!<br>

-Mike</p>