Nikkor 70-300mm lens not focusing in close?

thistleandthat

<p>since i'm a newbie myself, I have no idea what to tell my friend who is having problems with a lens she just bought. she has a Nikon D40 and just purchased the Nikkor 70-300mm lens for it and she just emailed me saying that its not getting in as close as she thought it would. now since I have never used that type of lens on any camera, i don't know how "close" is "close" for that particular lens. i know she wanted to be able to sit in the stands or stand on the sideline of her son's football games and get some really good close up shots of him on the field. did she get the wrong type of lens? or is there some settings that she needs to change on the camera body in order for the lens to get closer up?<br>

if you can help, i'd really appreciate it. you'll have to tell me exactly which buttons need to be pushed though, since I have a Canon.</p>

<p>You could interpret her comments in two ways. One, that the lens is not properly auto-focusing on subjects that are close to the camera, say 1-2 meters away. Or two, that when she zooms in to the 300mm point (for maximum image magnification) that the subject is still not filling up the viewfinder for a good picture.<br>

In the first case, she needs to check the owner's manual that came with the lens to determine the "Minimum Focusing Distance". Every lens has a minimum focus distance, and if the subject-to-camera distance is less than the minimum focus distance then you will not be able to achieve sharp focus. In that case you have to switch to some sort of macro lens.<br>

Last winter I tried using a Nikkor 70-300 lens on a D300 to achieve a "macro" shot on a gold bracelet. I found that if I got closer than say 1.5 meter then I could not achieve auto-focus lock on the gold bracelet. But if I backed away just a few inches, the AF worked OK. So there is a minimum focus length to be aware of.<br>