Cosina Voightlander 40MM SLII f2.0 or 35/1.8 DX?

john_hinkey

<p>I have an opportunity to pick up this Voigtlander for $200 and it's in like new condition. Any reason (besides lack of AF) I shouldn't get this lens instead of the Nikon 35/1.8G (if I can find one)? I'll be using it on primarily on my D300 when lack of AF won't be a major issue.<br>

Anyone had both, and if so what's your opinion?<br>

Thanks - John</p>

<p>I have never used the Voigtlander so that I have no experience about how it compares against the Nikon 35mm/f1.8 AF-S. The Nikon is a very good lens but has some moderate amount of CA issues.</p>

<p>If you plan to keep this lens forever, this is a non factor. Otherwise, I think it'll be much easier to sell the Nikon should you want to do so in the future. The Voigtlander is more a niche-market lens.</p>

<p>I like the Voigtlander 40mm (I had the original SL) on film. I thought it actually made a better "normal" than a 50mm did. The diagonal of 35mm film is 43.3mm, so we expect a normal to be 40-45mm. 50mm is an aberration, because physics says a fast "real" normal is a pain to make on an SLR: a 45mm f1.4 has to be quite retrofocus, and even a 50mm f1.4 is surprisingly asymmetrical. My favorite normals were the 40mm SL and the Nikon 45mm f2.8.</p>