Business Card Critic - yes, another :)

ryan_smith10

<p>I've noticed an inflation of business card critics, so decided to show you one I designed today. (this is posted in the business section as well, however for a different reason).</p>

<p>So what do you think? Is it integral to have an image since I'm a photographer? FYI I was thinking of making it plastic, with the white as translucent.</p><div>00U2hi-158367684.jpg.f87e847c4540f9c6b5979228bc19a079.jpg</div>

<p>I like the simplicity, and really if its mostly for you to hand out to clients or while meeting a client then I don't think you "need" an image.<br>

But I know I'm drawn to cards with an image on them over plain ones. So if say if I received mulitiply cards from a wedding planner, or bridal expo, I'd probably pass yours over for a more eye catching one. <br>

my 2 cents. :)</p>

Ryan, your card is very well designed, but I'm all for having an image on the front. A picture will grab the viewer's attention and is far more likely to result in a trip to your website, than simply printing your contact details. Drawing a prospect to your portfolio should be of paramount importance, in my opinion.

<p>While I agree that the design is attractive, I fear that the type is guaranteed to be much, much

too small. It’s a practical dilemma with business cards — it’s such a small

format, yet you’re handing them to people (middle-aged mothers, elderly grandparents) who

need to be able to actually read what’s on them. And small lightweight reversed type is

the textbook example of what they <em>won’t</em> be able to read.</p>

<p>While it’s permissible to go with smaller type on a card, I’d still recommend

against anything smaller than 9 point, especially if it’s anything other than black-on-white. 10

point is much better. If you can come up with an attractive design that uses 12 point type for your

contact information, you’re golden. (That’s near-impossible, but no less

desireable.)</p>

<p>Cheers,</p>