Help with my 1st Wedding?

michaelsmiller

<p>So I am shooting my very first wedding in about 4 months and I am overwhelmed and in need of some serious help! I am not an amatuer shooter, I have been a photographer for years but never did weddings. A close friend of mine wants me to shoot their wedding and refuses to consider anyone else so I agreed. I have let them know my inexperience in this discipline as to set the expectations. They understand but are a big fan of my work so they are willing to let me learn on the fly.<br>

With this said, I need your help as far as some logistics questions....</p>

<p>1. Is it possible to get optimal performance and hit all my shots with just myself, or is it absolutely necessary for me to hire a 2nd shooter? If I need a 2nd, what is a fair price to pay them?</p>

<p>2. Is 3 4GB cards enough, if I am shooting only RAW, or should I go out and grab a few more 8GB cards?</p>

<p>3. What is the best policy about shooting the bride and groom between the wedding and the reception. Should I allot about an hour or do we need more like 2 hours to get the necessary shots?</p>

<p>4. Can I get away with using a Speedlite 430EX II Shoe Mount Flash inside the church or will I need extra lighting or does that just completely matter on the church, couple, regulations of the church?</p>

<p>5. What is the policy about return time on images from a wedding because of the large amount of images taken? Normally I tell my clients to allow 10-14 days for their images to be ready for viewing/purchasing. Will this be enough time or do I allot more like 1 month before the images are ready for the couple?</p>

<p>6. Is a FREE engagement session standard operating procedure?</p>