between the Canon 300mm lens with USM, and the Sigma 300mm lens with

Macro (APO). Although I can feel the difference in the speed to

focus, in that the canon is a lot quicker and of course quieter than

the Sigma, I must say that the Sigma feels a bit more robust and of

course has the Macro functionality. I have read in the forums the

same question but with regard to the Nikon lens. I just want to be

sure that the actual lens quality is the same and if I go for the

Sigma I'm not making a real mistake. I'm an amateur photographer,

using camera mainly on traveling expeditions. Any help?

I think you have to be a bit more descriptive, neither brand has a 90-300 and later on you only mention "300mm".

In the "budget" 75/100-300 range I would go for the Canon 100-300/4.5-5.6 USM lens. Canon's 75-300 USM has the "Micro-USM" motor, which realy isn't USM. I have never used one, but the Sigma's in this range just seem too cheap to be true, and especialy adding macro capability on an already cheap lens (though not true macro) makes me even more suspicious.

Cheers,

I have the canon 75-300 and I think for the price its a great lens,really quiet and suits my EOS 650 more than your 300. The Sigma isnt that much difference as has been said the difference is with the USM. They are all f4-5.6 and whether you use macro or not may make your choice. The Canon has x.25 at 1.5m, not sure about the Sigma use it before you buy due to possible compatibility problems discussed here previously. Tamron also make a cheap 70-300mm. You pays your money coz at this pricepoint they're all the same.

Consider used stuff £150 will buy an awful lot more S/H than any of the above mentioned, dont rush to buy the 1st you see. Try them out and then shop around. +/-£50 difference is not unusual