Canon 50 1.8 focus problem?

elizabeth_l.

<p>I just got in my new 50 1.8. I've been shooting lots of photos of my son to familiarize myself with the lens. <br>

Unfortunately, a large number of the photos I've taken with this new lens are out of focus. Since I am a newbie, I'm wondering if the problem is me or the lens. I haven't had these same issues with the kit 18-55 lens that came with my Rebel XTi. With the 50 1.8, the photos that are in focus look great. But, there are so many where the camera seems to pick the wrong focal point. For candid/environmental shots of my very busy 2 year old, should I have the camera set on AI Servo, on One-Shot, or AF? <br>

Any recommendations would help. I'm just not sure whether to change what I'm doing or exchange the lens.<br>

Thanks!</p>

<p>Try using only the center focus point. Focus then recompose. Try to focus on an eye if possible. My guess is the photos are blurry because of the shallow depth of field the lens provides ( assuming your shooting at F2.8 or wider ) <br /> Also check your shutter speed. If your shooting moving kids you will want to keep it pretty fast, maybe around 1/125 or 1/250. <br /> Flash will also help freeze motion.<br>

You can use AI servo or 1 shot depending on what your trying to do. I usually go with 1 shot. </p>

<p>i think you need to understand depth of field a little more. i'm assuming your kit lens is a 3.5-4.5 (ish?)<br>

even on a full frame camera where the 50mm is a true 50mm, the depth of field at 1.8 when shooting at close distances is very minimal. with your crop camera, this lens is more like an 80/85mm lens...and at close distances, and 1.8 the dof will be razor thin.</p>