Sell 40D and buy 5D MKII?

<p> Right off the top, I'm not a professional photographer. My shoots are for recreation and family events. I've shot some weddings in the past and may do so again but that's not a primary consideration for me. The 5D MK II is well within my budget. My camera bag holds a 16-35L IS f.2.8 and a 24-105L IS f/4 is on the way. There's a 14MM f/2.8 Sigma, 50 MM Canon macro and a 300MM L IS f/4.5 in the bag as well. Will spending $2700 for a 5D MK II make sense or should I concentrate on some other aspect of my equipment? The video capability of the MK II is somewhat appealing but realistically I'm not going to be doing a lot of video. <br>

Here's my living situation. I'm a 66 year old batchelor who is going into a "semi-retirement" lifestyle (working just two days a week) and my income will be more than ample for my needs. Yosemite NP is a short drive to the east and San Francisco is a bit further to the west. All feedback welcome.</p>

<p>If you are serious about landscape photography in places like Yosemite (and perhaps urban landscape photography in places like San Francisco) and you work very carefully and print large... the full frame body can provide some real advantages.</p>

<p>If your photographs are not generally printed in larger sizes and/or you tend to take a slightly more casual approach to photography the cost of the 5DII may not correlate with visible improvements in your photography.</p>

<p>Take care,</p>

<p>Dan</p>

<p>Walter, I wouldn't hesitate to get a 5D Mark II. It's image quality is quite simply staggering, and now that you're "semi-retired," you'll have the luxury of being able to really enjoy using it.</p>

<p>Incidentally, I didn't think that there was an IS version of the 16-35/2.8 L.</p>