Rebel XTi

scouser1953

<p>I'm fascinated with Macro photography and following the advice of Scott Kelby, I have recently ordered some extension tubes which will hopefully give me a similar effect as a true macro lens without the cost.<br /> <br /> I would also like to purchase a reasonably-priced telephoto lens and noted Canon has some deals right now (this week's photo.net newsletter). Being a beginner I can understand that I need to decide what I will be using it for; however, if I knew what each lens would produce might help me determine which one to get. This is where I'd like some advice. What results should each lens produce? The only lens I have right now is the standard 18-55 mm which came with the camera. Your advice would be most appreciated. Thanks. Liz</p>

<p>I'd do it the other way around: decide what you want to do first. But if you want an inexpensive lens to use to help gain some experience to help you figure that out, one relatively inexpensive and lightweight option is the EFS 55-250 IS--not a fabulous lens, but not bad, and certainly good for the price. It's what I carry. The IS (image stabilization) is nice, because the longer the lens, the harder it is to hold it steady enough, and IS compensates to some degree for that. Because your camera has a crop sensor, this lens is the equivalent of a 400mm telephoto on a film or full-frame digital SLR, and that is long enough for a lot of purposes.</p>

<p>Preface: always try to decide what you want to do first, and then determine what you need for that purpose. Otherwise, you'll spend a lot more money and time getting to a destination by a roundabout route.</p>

<p>For a telephoto, I'd recommend either the 55-250mm IS or the somewhat better and more expensive 70-300mm IS lenses. These would be good "starters" and either is an appropriate match for the XTi. You'll always be able to sell them when you decide to get L glass.</p>