The Flu. What Would You Do?

art_tatum

<p>I am a destination wedding photographer and I am anticipating some near term cancellations due to the flu panic. Most of these weddings have paid retainers. I haven't yet decided what I will do with the retainers. I would appreciate some opinions from destination wedding photographers in similar situations. </p>

<p>art, these are difficult times. i am sure that these weddings are to go ahead in the future. unless they ask for the money back, keep it and wait to be contacted. perhaps they might change the dates or so. difficult times call for prudent measures.</p>

<p>Well, there are a few more questions that need to be answered:</p>

<ul>

<li>Does your contract call it a retainer or a deposit?</li>

<li>If it's a deposit, is it non-refundable? If it is non-refundable, you can make your decision based on that.</li>

<li>Does your contract say that the <em>retainers</em> are non-refundable? If it does, then you can choose to keep it or not.</li>

<li>If you keep the retainer, then you are (most likely) obligated to shoot the wedding whenever and wherever it is re-scheduled for. Clients pay a retainer to ensure your availability. If you can't re-shoot the wedding, then you will have to return the retainer.</li>

</ul>

<p>Of course, that just answes whether or not you are obligated to return the money paid or if you can keep it.</p>

<p>The ethical question, of course, is one that only you can decide. But there is a reason we collect non-refundable deposits. :-)</p>

<p>Let me ask you this: if the client were to cancel the wedding for any other reason, what would you do?</p>

<p>I would give them their money back if they ask, to me that would be a valuable customer service experience, especially that these are not normal circumstances. They would pass that story to their friends and you might get more business through that word of mouth. Also, they will re-hire you when or if they change their wedding dates.<br>