Speedlight Question

josheudowe

<p>Question -<br>

I use a Nikon SB-800 flash, but would like to setup something in my home for some portrait work on my kids. The harsh light from the flash is too much. I'm an avid outdoor photographer (amateur), so I'm entering unchartered territory here. However, can I buy a stand and umbrella and merely use a remote for my flash? Or would a better option be to buy something else (1 or 2 other lights for a dedicated location?<br>

Again, dumn down your answers, because I'm not very familiar with indoor lighting options.</p>

<p>Thank you!</p>

<p>I think the short answer is YES, you can easily use your SB-800 as your main off-camera flash. Obviously you'll need a basic light stand (6-8 feet tall), umbrella (white, about 43" or so in diameter with a removable black cover), and an Adorama Universal Swivel Holder (SKU: LTUSH) or equivalent. These three items might run you under $100. I'd suggest you also consider a 32" or 42" circular collapsible disc white disc reflector for fill.</p>

<p>For synchronization you can use the Nikon CLS (assuming you have a Nikon SLR), a cheap long sync cord, or a radio slave. If you have a Nikon DSLR then CLS is probably the easiest way to go as you own it already and it is fairly simple to use.</p>

<p>Excellent! Thank you both so much for the help. Yes, I'm using a D300. Is there a better solution than using my SB-800? In other words, for similar cost (maybe up to $300) would I be better with something else? I've very new to lighting indoors, so your help is SO much appreciated!</p>

<p>Best,<br>

Josh</p>