Commencment Photography Pricing question

joe_rych

<p>Hello,</p>

<p>As most of you may know. I am primarily a wedding photographer, however, just recently I got a call from local university wanting me to quote them for commencment photos. Seeing as how I dont usually do too much of that (though I would like to) I don't yet have a price structure for this sort of thing.<br>

She would like a quote back today. What should I tell her? She told me that I would be selling the photo's to the students (there are about 250 graduating). Do I charge them a small fee to photograph the event or should I offer the event for free while earning money on sales from the families?<br>

If I am to charge a fee, how much do you think? Also, what kinds of packages will I have for the families and students to purchase?</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>Joe</p>

<p>I am surprised by your questions. The answers are: It's all up to you to choose......you do weddings, so surely you can put packages together? Charge a fee? How much? Don't charge a fee? Do it free?</p>

<p>For a person who introduces his subject by saying that <strong>"I am primarily a wedding photographer"</strong> , you appear to know nothing about pricing what you do.</p>

<p>This is the kind of question that I find so irritating.....If you <strong>are</strong> what you say you are....then the question is really silly, imo.</p>

<p>Bob,<br />It's a vald question coming from someone who works in one market but is asking about pricing another. In a wedding market I am planning on making my money off of being hired for the event whereas in the graduation market I would be making my money off of many different people. Two totally different situations. I guess what I'm saying is, thanks for nothing. You post did not contribute in any way except to show people how ignorant you really are to people who are not "photography gods" like you.</p>

<p>Hello, Joe:<br>

Congratulations...that is a great oppertunity ;)<br>