Worth the expense to upgrade my Canon 35mm?

j.e.t

Hi all. For the past several months I have enjoyed reading the

informative (and sometimes combative!) discussions posted in

these forums. This is my first question for the forum and I am

hoping to glean advice from any and all those out there reading.

I know there has been heated debate regarding Canon vs.

Nikon, but I have more of a specific question I was hoping some

of you could answer.

I am just starting out my photography business and am

re-assessing my equipment needs. I am a food and travel

photographer and use a Mamiya 645 and a Canon Rebel 2000.

The problem with the Mamiya on location is that it isn't as

convenient as my 35 mm, for obvious reasons. I am looking into

purchasing a new Nikon SLR but am unsure if the extra expense

is worth it. On several of the forums, people raved about the

quality of the Canon Rebel. It has definitely taken good

photographs, but would you consider it to be a professional

quality camera? I consider to be more of a high-quality

consumer point and shoot, rather than a professional quality 35

mm. I know that the choices for photographic equipment are

endless, but if I am looking to spend about $2000 on a new

Nikon SLR, 1) is it worth it? 2) which Nikon body would you

recommend for this price bracket (including lenses)? 3) Will I

notice a big difference in the quality between the Nikon and the

Canon?

Thank you all so much for your help!

PS: Are any of you based in North Carolina? I just moved here

and would love to talk to you about your success as a

photographer being based somewhere other than a big city....

If you thought, new 35mm gear could FULLY replace MF: Forget it.

The light-tight box (camera body) is one of the less important parts of the whole system, more imortant are the lenses and In doubt that you will see a bigger differences between 355mm systems, than between 35mm and MF.

So the answers are:

1) No

3) No, not a BIG difference