dead pixels 'common'? (5d2)

matt_m__toronto_

<p>i've noticed what looks like a white pixel in the same poistion on a few photos...well any photo that has a dark area where said pixel exists. i'm new to digital photography, so i don't know if this is something that digital shooters just deal with and correct in post, or if i have a lemon.</p>

<p>thanks for any info.</p>

<p>I've had a few on my 40D and I found a procedure that works. WIth a capped lens in the camera, go through the manual sensor cleaning menu. This will move the mirror up as if you were cleaning the sensor, only you're not and in fact you have a capped lens on. Leave it for 30s or so, then turn off the camera. This has cleared up my hot pixels twice, and no, I have no idea why it should work and people in this forum have said id would not work on this camera. But it's worth a shot.<br>

It is annoying as hell and I have not gotten an answer from Canon as to why these occur.<br>

The only other solution is to send the camera to Canon and have them remap the pixels. Not sure exactly what that does either.<br>

On the other hand, I have not noticed any for a while (I'm at about 6,000 clicks, and probably no stuck pixels for 3000 lpus, so maybe the camera outgrew the problem).</p>

<p>Yes, dead pixels are common. And the more you pack on a sensor, the more dead pixels you will have.<br>

I've wondered if this is how Canon is dealing with mollifying the Ds3 owners - by putting lesser quality sensors on the 5D2? I've had a chance to look at several 5D2's now, and there seems to be many times more dead pixels on those sensors than on those of our Ds3's.<br>

Several associates of mine have done (minimal) research, but so far there doesn't seem to be any specs about the "dead pixel" tolerance of the various sensors.</p>