Of course the M8 sensor can be upgraded

larry_kincaid2

<p>I'm no engineer, but if Nikon can double the megapixels to 24.5 with a new sensor that fits into the same old D3X (that's full frame) slot, then there's no reason why Kodak cannot make new sensor to "plug into" the same sized slot on the M8 and call it an M8X, M9, or simply one of the (very expensive) upgrades to the original M8s. Then I'd get the others thrown in as a package. No hurry, the M8 I have now does everything I want it to do except point itself for the photograph. Okay, electronics and software upgrade at the same time. <br>

SEE: <strong><em>The Nikon D3X’s 24.5-megapixel FX-format (35.9 x 24.0mm) CMOS sensor was developed expressly for the D3X in accordance with Nikon’s stringent engineering requirements and performance standards, with final production executed by Sony.</em></strong><br>

Let's get some "expressly" development from Leica and Kodak. </p>

<p>I hear ya, but there are some difficult problems in dealing with short focal length non retrofocus lenses. Would you like it if the solution was R glass that was rangefinder coupled. This solves the problem and Leica could do it, but it would hardly make customers happy as the camera concept was to be able to use existing lenses.</p>

<p>Going from a 16x24 sensor slot to 24x36 is different than from the same size and just changing the chip. It also remains to be seen if 24 MP is better than 12 on the same chip. I suspect it is because of new advances, but I would not trade my low noise D700 to get a noisy 24 MP.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Can Leica upgrade the M8 with a new 1.33x crop sensor with more pixels (or less noise)? Probably, although it would probably mean a revamp of the processors and buffer to accomodate the new file size - basically all the electronics except maybe the SD-card unit and metering LEDs.</p>