Vietnam tour or solo travel

ed_tobin

<p>Hi,</p>

<p>I am planning on going to Vietnam by myself for 5 to 6 weeks inclusive of travel from the USA and back.<br>

This is my first time to this country and I have read many of the postings including the Vietnam photographers guide but I one question that I keep wrestling.<br>

Do I just go and deal with all of the details of hotel and local travel when i arrive or do I join a tour four a couple of weeks then go on my own once I am orientated?</p>

<p>The tour that a neighbor recommended is http://www.oattravel.com/gcc/general/default.aspx?oid=226223&linklocation=search. This tour company will reduce the price by about $1000 since I will be using my frequent flier miles for travel to and from the USA<br>

I would be grateful for the views and thoughts of thoses that have traveled to Vietnam</p>

<p>Thanks--Ed</p>

<p> </p>

<p>I recently went to Vietnam completely solo (I booked everything online by myself, and even where I hadn't booked anything, I sorted things on the spot) and I have this to say (with regard to the itinerary you linked): 60% of the beauty that is Vietnam (and it IS an amazing place, let me tell you that) is all the inbetween places this itinerary seems to be missing by flying you from Hanoi down to Hue and then rushing you in a single day to Dalat (and so on and so forth).<br>

It took me 17 days to drive from Saigon to Hanoi and back and I would stop wherever I wanted, stayed for as long as I wanted, even wait for an hour for that perfect shot (!).  I shared meals with the locals in small fishing huts, I've helped a family gather their fishing catch - I joined in the life as much as I could.  How did I do that?<br>