Used 5D vs. 5D Mark II for new EOS user

mark_pierlot

I'm new to EOS, having shot with FD gear (F-1N, T90, most of the best glass) for the past several years. I have an

EOS-3, which I'm very happy with, but would like to pick up a DSLR. I'm not interested in a cropped frame body,

having always shot full frame. I have an opportunity to get a mint 5D with a vertical grip for CDN$1500; a 5D Mark II

(without grip) will cost me a least twice that, with tax. So my question is, how happy will I be with the IQ of the 5D,

given my experience with my F-1N, T90, and EOS-3? (I realize, of course, that none of you has my experience, but

some of you have comparable experience.)

Hi Mark,

If you can work out a good digital work flow for yourself and look at it truly like a darkroom, but on a computer, then the images from a 5D will surpass your FD gear unless you only shot prime L glass, Velvia on a tripod with mirror lockup and a remote release. The 5D MkII adds some interesting features and improved IQ, especially at high ISO, the low light performance far out classes high speed films now. Only you can decide how much the newer camera is worth to you, I would pay $1,500 for self a cleaning sensor alone having spent too much time removing dust spots.

I still have my F-1N and 1VHS's and lots of Velvia.................

Mark,