I want to purchase a rangefinder

ben_quinn1

I want to purchase a rangefinder for a project I want to do, I have no experience of these machines and limited

budget. I want to do some portraits and street photography in B&W on some high ISO grainy film. I'd want maybe

two lenses maybe a 35mm and a 50mm or a 35 mm and a 85mm. What should I buy for not much money?

A fixed lens Japanese rangefinder of the 70's era can be had for $150 and under. The cost went up the moment you asked for interchangeable lenses. Something reasonable like a Cosina Bessa model or Contax G series and a couple of lenses will be $600 and up. Expect to pay thousands for a usable Leica body and lens.

If you're truly on a tight budget, get a 135 format SLR. A reasonable meterless, manual focus body on par with the the rangefinder you queried about can be had starting around $50. Pay another $40 for a 50mm f2'ish lens, and maybe $60 for a 35mm f2.8.

Welcome to the wonderful world of rangefinders! Careful they are addictive! :) I think you're best bet for starting out would be a Voigtlander

Bessa R2 or R3 (easy to find on ebay or in used camera shops) with a 35mm Voigtlander f2.5 lens for street shooting and the 75mm

voigtlander lens for portraits. They are quite reasonably priced on the second hand market and the lenses are tack sharp! :) Otherwise you

would get the whole kit new for close to 2k US. But that is probably well out of your budget I'm guessing.

Alternatively you have only the Leica's really - assuming you definitely want interchangeable lenses (the Contax G1-2 series is also good and

quite cheap 2nd hand considering the quality but it is autofocus and the viewfinder is quite small and more difficult for manual focusing). For

a budget the Leica's are really out of the question as the only affordable ones with 35mm or 40mm framelines (ie M2, M3 or Minolta CLE