D300 battery life question

joe_rych

I am a wedding photographer and am upgrading to a D300 with a grip. Can you please answer the following battery

life questions for me?

1) camera battery life with just included battery (rough shots in raw +jpeg)

2)Camera battery life with MB-D10 grip in place no battery in camera grip only EN-EL4a in the grip

3)Camera battery life with EN-EL3 in the camera and En-EL4a in the grip

4)Camera battery life with Dual EN-EL3's (one in camera one in grip)

I am trying to figure out if I need to go the enel4 route for the batteries. If you shoot weddings or events could you

kindly reply with whay you generally see as to battery life with the setup you run? With whatever setup you run do

you need to keep spares in your pockets or is the life in the camera already overkill?

Thanks,

Joe

Camera battery usage varies greatly depending on the lens you use and monitor usage.

I have shot at several events where I got well over 4,000 pictures with the En-El4a and still had plenty of

battery power left. Again, a lot depends on monitor usage. I only have EL3's for backup so I can't help you out

there.

In general, I would guess that the EL4a battery will outlast you for a wedding. But you should always have

backups just in case.

Elliot, is there a typo? 4000 pictures at an event seems to be quite excessive. Were those multi-day affairs?

Once I shot about 1000 images within a day at a tennis tournament where I was using 9 frames/sec a lot on a D3. I

switched batteries once but I am sure one EN-EL4e can easily give me well over 1000 images.

If you shoot weddings with a D300, two EN-EL3e batteries should last you the whole day for the typical several

hundred images. EN-EL3e's are quite inexpensive. You probably want to bring a 3rd or even a 4th one with you.

There are plenty of opportunities during a wedding day to change batteries. For example, I would put in a new battery