A Backward Lens Queston From A Pro

dcraton

Hi and thanks in advance.

I have a great collection of pro lenses for our business: tanks, fast, heavy, love them.

However, rather looking to upgrade, I am looking for ONE lens to attach to a D200 for general walkabout day

shooting. Most important factor for me is IQ. I really don't care about AF speed or having another low light

lens or f/2.8 zoom. Would be nice to at least start at 28mm with a bit of reach. I am Sigma friendly, but a

Nikon lover.

I want light, durable, affordable and not at 24-120mm.

And please, refrain from a D300 or D700 upgrade discussion. This is a lens question as I have little knowledge

of consumer lenses. Again: one lens for walkabout, out with the wife, etc. lens.

Thanks and no tanks.

David

Take a peek at Matt Laur's travel portfolio for samples from the 18-200. Looks like a winner for what you've described.

For the money it's hard to beat the 18-70 DX. I bought one more than three years ago with my D2H, mostly out of curiosity about the DX format. I hardly used it for the first year and even considered selling it. Now I use it extensively for casual photos, especially of people oriented events, with and without flash.

16-85 would be good. But later this week we might be seeing a new 18-105 VR! Equivalent f.o.v. of 28-157 or so. WOW,

that'd be sweet!

18-200 VR is great, too. I LOVE mine, but the 16-85 seems to have better image quality.

28-xxx would stink, I think. Too long at the wide end.

Not that any thread should become a popularity contest - BUT - I too rate the 18-70mm DX lens as the best value for money lens from Nikon I have used. I regret selling my copy with D70 for the very same reasons you stipulate. Plenty acceptable IQ, in-expensive to purchase new, very lightweight and quite a useful focal length range on DX format.

If you want something that starts at 28mm then I would look at the 28-105 Nikkor. Bjorn at :