SmugMug satisfaction?

mbyrne

I just signed up for the SmugMug Pro plan with the 14 day free trial. Have you all been staisfied with them? everything seems pretty slick

on the site, it looks real nice and pro. Have your clients been happy with their products? Who does their printing, is it in-house? How do the

payments work, does it have to get a certain amount, or can you withdraw money at any time?

mike - dumping pictage for smugmug was the best business decision I made last year. pays for itself many times over, great interface, fast and stable site. clients love it.

printing is done by EZ prints in georgia, I think. great prints.

payment is quarterly.

I've been very happy with SmugMug (however I have not used any of the other sites, so I have nothing to compare

them to and as far as clients, I am relatively new to the wedding business - 4 full weddings and 4 half

weddings). I believe you have to reach $100 in profit before they send you a check.

If you are interested in customizing your Smugmug site yourself, the support forum is great for learning the CSS

codes (and I have to admit, I found it very addictive - once you start customizing it is hard to stop). There are

a few things that I would like to be able to customize that I currently can't, but they are pretty minor issues

and I'm sure there are things I can do to work around them.

I've had to email their customer support twice (once was a stupid error on my part, and once was on behalf of a

client who couldn't get the shopping cart to work) Both times they responded within an hour's time and resolved

the issues.

Before you make a decision, I suggest browsing their forum - it gives you a good sense of the company and support

they offer.